1800 931 129

FFA Cup: Final rematch heads to Adelaide

For the second consecutive year, Adelaide United will take on Sydney FC in the FFA Cup final after both A League sides won their semi-final matches convincingly.

United were the first team to make the final after their 2-0 win over Bentleigh Greens on Friday.

A goal either side of half-time was enough to see the top-flight outfit home against their lower league competition with Ben Halloran putting his side ahead after 21 minutes.

It was Halloran’s first competitive goal for Adelaide, and his first in Australia for five years. Halloran was denied a second thanks to a great save from Greens keeper Ryan Scott before Jordan Elsey doubled United’s lead 50 minutes in.

An Isaías free-kick was only parried by the Greens shot stopper and Elsey was first on the scene to slam home the rebound.

Greens pressed to try and get back into the game but it wasn’t to be and the fairy-tale came to an end.

In the other semi-final, Sydney FC traveled to Penrith to face-off against their fierce rivals the Wanderers.

In a tight first half, neither side was able to push home an advantage but a second half spree saw the Sky Blues secure their place in their third consecutive FFA Cup final.

 The defending champions took the lead four minutes after half-time thanks to new boy Trent Buhagiar. Set-up by fellow new arrival Siem de Jong, Buhagiar slotted home before Sky Blues keeper Andrew Redmayne kept his side ahead with a close-range save from a Josh Risdon strike.

A moment of brilliance saw de Jong add his name to the score sheet as he rifled home one of the best free kicks the competition has ever seen.

With the Wanderers pushing to get back into the game, their fate was sealed when Adam Le Fondre was felled in the area by Tarek Elrich. The Englishman picked himself up and blasted home the spot kick to seal a 3-0 win.

Sydney FC will now look to become the first side to defend the FFA Cup but will have to travel to Adelaide, and beat United in their own backyard to be crowned champions.

Unlike last year, he teams will face-off at Coopers Stadium on 30 October with the kick-off time to be announced later.

Back to top